5 May 2016

Vice Admiral Sunil Lanba to be Indian Navy chief

·      Vice Admiral Sunil Lanba has been appointed the new Chief of Naval Staff and will assume charge on May 31, said a Defence Ministry spokesperson today.

·     The 58-year-old will have the full three-year tenure as Navy Chief, and occupyoffice until May 31, 2019. Lanba, presently Flag Officer Commanding-in Chief of Western Naval Command, will succeed Admiral RK Dhowan.

Kotak Bank opens international unit in 

Gujarat’s GIFT City

Image result for Kotak Bank

Earlier IBUs of YES Bank, Federal Bank and ICICI Bank have put their   operational at the GIFT city. With this Kotak Mahindra Bank Ltd became the fourth bank to open its IFSC Banking Unit (IBU).

In the past six months over $250 million worth of business transactions done at IFSC GIFT city which is attracting interest from the BFSI sector in India
Mumbai based Kotak Mahindra Bank has opened IFSC Banking unit at Gujarat International Finance Tec-City (GIFT) City.

Kotak Mahindra Bank:

CEO: Uday Kotak
Headquarters: Mumbai

Agriculture project in Andhra Pradesh wins   WSIS 2016 prize 

Image result for WSIS 2016 prize     

 On 3 May 2016, The agriculture project Harita-Priya of Andhra Pradesh won the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) 2016 prize in e-Agriculture category.

      The prize was announced by International Telecommunications Union (ITU) Secretary-General Houlin Zhao, in Geneva.

Facts  – 

       Harita-Priya Project is the experiment, that is being carried out as a part of HARITA (Harmonized Information of Agriculture, Revenue and Irrigation for a Transformation Agenda) initiative of Government of Andhra Pradesh, being implemented with the objective of integrating the data generated by three departments (Agriculture,Revenue and Irrigation),so as to ensure consistency, efficiency and timeliness of the decision making process

Radha Binod Barman  - took over as   part-time Chairperson of National Statistical

Image result for Radha Binod Barman      
Renowned statistician Dr Radha Binod Barman took over as the part-time Chairperson in the National Statistical Commission.
Whereas, Professor S. Mahendra Dev, Professor Rahul Mukherjee, Dr Rajiv Mehta and Dr Manoj Panda took over as other part-time members in the commission.

 Key facts  About National Statistical Commission -

  •  On 1 June 2005 on the recommendation of C. Rangarajan Commission, The Government of India ordered setting up National Statistical CommissionThe National Statistical Commission (NSC) of India is an autonomous body which formed in July 2006.

• The NSC is headed by economists Prof TCA Anant (Chief Statistician of India and Secretary of both NSC and Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation) and Dr. Radha Binod Burman (Chairman of NSC).