23rd March 2016

A.   PM Narendra Modi launches two projects between India, Bangladesh

1.Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Bangladesh’s PM Sheikh Hasina alongwith Chief Minister of Tripura inaugurated two historical projects between two countries via video conference. 

2.These projects are 100 MW power export via transmission lines between Surjamaninagar (Tripura) and South Comilla in Bangladesh. 

3.Announcement of India’s 3rd Internet Gateway optical fibre connection between Cox Bazaar in Bangladesh and Agartala (Tripura). 

4.Bangladesh will export 10 gbps (gigabytes per second) of Internet bandwidth to India.

5. It will help India strengthen telecom services and connectivity in India’s underdeveloped and sparsely connected eight northeastern states. 

6.Under the connectivity project, an international gateway for broadband connectivity will be set up at Agartala (Tripura) through which connectivity will be provided via Bangladesh. 

7.India’s state-run Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd (BSNL) and Bangladesh Submarine Cable Co. Ltd (BSCCL) using the network of the Bangladesh Telecom Co. Ltd are implementing agencies. 

8.These agreements on the export of electricity and Internet bandwidth were signed between both countries in Dhaka during PM Narendra Modi’s official visit to Bangladesh in June 2015.

B.    March 23: World Meteorological Day

1.Every year 23rd March is being observed as World Meteorological Day (WMD). 

2.The theme for 2016 year is “Hotter, Drier, Wetter. Face the Future”. 

3.The theme highlights the disruption caused by climate change on the natural pattern of the seasons and increasing frequency and intensity of certain extreme weather events such as heat waves, droughts and heavy rainfall. 

4.On the occasion of WMD, various meteorological research awards will be also given. 

5.These awards include International Meteorological Organization Prize, Professor Dr. Vilho Vaisaila Award and Norbert Gerbier-Mumm International Award. 

1.On this day in 1950 the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO) Convention came into force that aimed at creating WMO. 

2.Later in 1951, WMO became United Nations specialized agency for meteorology, geophysical sciences and operational hydrology.

C.   Justice Permod Kohli appointed as Chairman of Central Administrative Tribunal

1.Retired Chief Justice of Sikkim High Court Justice Permod Kohli has been appointed as the Chairman of Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT). 

2.His appointment was approved by the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New. 

3.Justice Kohli will have tenure of five years with effect from the date of assumption of charge of the post or till attaining the age of 68 years, whichever is earlier. 

About Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT) 
1.CAT was established under Article 323A of the Constitution (inserted by the 42nd Constitutional Amendment, 1976). 

2.It exercises original jurisdiction in relation to recruitment and all services matters of public servants covered by it. 

3.Its jurisdiction extends to the all-India services, Central civil services, civil posts under the Centre and civilian employee of defence services, It is a multi-member body consisting of Chairman and members.
D.    Nepal joins SCO grouping as dialogue partner

1.Nepal was officially made a dialogue partner of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), a Beijing-based regional security grouping. 

2.In this regard, Nepal signed memorandum during Nepalese Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli official visit to China.

3.As a dialogue partner, Nepal will be able to participate in the multi-field cooperation of the SCO. 

4.It will also create new opportunities for the SCO’s mutually beneficial cooperation and benefit people living in the extensive region that the SCO covers. 

About Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) 
1.SCO is a Eurasian economic, political and military organisation. 
8 Members: China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, India and Pakistan. Observers: Afghanistan, Iran, Mongolia and Belarus. 

Headquarters: Beijing, China. 

Established: 2001 in Shanghai by the leaders 6 countries viz. China, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.