Current Affairs 8 April 2015

Gujarat won Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

  • The 2014-15 Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy played at the KIIT Cricket Stadium, Bhubaneshwar was won by Gujarat cricket team. 
  • Gujarat defeated Punjab by scoring 123 runs in 19.5 overs whereas Punjab scored 117 runs in 20 overs in final match.
  • The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is a domestic Twenty20 cricket championship in India organized by Board of Control for Cricket in India and is played among the teams from Ranji Trophy.

Mayilsamy Annadurai appointed as Director of ISRO Satellite Centre (ISAC)

 Dronavalli Harika won bronze in World Women's chess championship

PM launched MUDRA Bank under PM Jan Dhan Yojana to - fund small entrepreneurs

  •  Micro Units Development and Refinance Agency Ltd. (MUDRA) Bank to fund the small business person. 
  • The bank will provide credit of up to 10 lakh rupees to small entrepreneurs and act as a regulator for Micro-Finance Institutions (MFIs).

Current Affairs 7 April 2015

Rajeev Shukla appointed as Chairman of IPL Governing Council

Pratap Singh won Institute of Physics Prize for his Cosmic-ray project

  •  Pratap Singh is 15-year-old Indian-origin schoolboy,in the United Kingdom was awarded with the 500 pounds Institute of Physics (IOP) Prize. 

Piplantri is the village of Rajasthan that plants 111 trees for every girl born.

7th April is observed as  World Health Day globally 

  • The theme of WHD is "From farm to plate, make food safe".

Dena Bank signed MoU with  Life Insurance Corporation (LIC)

  • This MoU is to provide insurance cover to all Aadhaar-linked savings account holders of the bank in the age group of 18 to 50 years. 
  • The insurance cover will be provided under the Prime Minister’s Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bima Yojana (PMJBY) scheme. 
  • The scheme will come into effect from 1 June 2015.

Current Affairs 6 April 2015

Delhi airport wins Golden Peacock National Quality Award 2015

  • GPNA have been instituted in 1991 by Institute of Directors (IOD) a registered non-profit apex association of company directors.
  • The Award is bestowed annually to encourage total improvement in each sector of the business.

Winners of 2015 Miami Open Titles

Men’s singles Title

  • World No. 1 and Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic has won the 2015 Miami Open Men’s Singles Title.
  •  In the final match he defeated Britain’s Andy Murray
  • This was Djokovic’s fifth Miami Open trophy.

Women’s singles Title 

  • World No. 1 and American tennis player Serena Williams has won the 2015 Miami Open Women’s singles Title.
  •  In the final match she defeated Spain’s Carla Su├írez Navarro.

Men’s doubles Title 

  • American Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan pair has won the 2015 Miami Open Men’s doubles Title.
  • They defeated Vasek Pospisil (Canada) and Jack Sock (US) pair.

Women’s doubles Title 

  • India’s Sania Mirza and Switzerland’s Martina Hingis pair has won 2015 Miami Open Women’s doubles Title. 
  • They defeated Russian pair of Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina.

India to host 5th meeting of SAARC Health Ministers in New Delhi

  • The 5th meeting will start on 9 April 2015 and is being held in pursuance of decisions taken by the SAARC Summit of Heads of States held at Kathmandu in November 2014.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi launches National Air Quality Index to give pollution information

  • Initially the new index will cover 10 cities.
  • They are Ahmedabad, Chennai, Delhi, Kanpur, Lucknow, Agra, Faridabad, Varanasi, Bangalore and Hyderabad. Later it will be extended to more than 60 cities