K P Sharma Oli becomes Nepal PM for the second time

  • Nepal President Bidhya Devi Bhandari has appointed CPN-UML chairperson K P Sharma Oli (65-year) as the Prime Minister (41st)  after his Left alliance routed the ruling Nepali Congress in the country's parliamentary and local polls. 
  • Earlier, Mr. Oli had served as the country's prime minister from October 11, 2015, to August 3, 2016.
  • The appointment was made under the article 76 of Nepals Constitution which states that in case of no clear majority of any party in the House of Representatives, the President shall appoint as Prime Minister the member of the House of Representatives who can have the majority with the support of two or more political parties.
  • Olis PM candidacy was supported by the UCPN-Maoists, Rastriya Prajatantra Party Nepal, and Madhesi Rights Forum-Democratic along with 13 other small parties.
  • Earlier, former prime minister and Nepali Congress president Sher Bahadur Deuba had addressed the nation and submitted his resignation to the president.
  • Deuba was elected as the 40th Prime Minister on June 6 with the support from CPN (Maoist Centre) which is now a part of Left alliance and opting for merger with CPN-UML.